cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5g Hub started great - now very slow speeds + unreliable connection

joespa89
Regular

I got a three 5G hub last month after making the switch from regular broadband. Speeds and reliability were great, anywhere between 150-300mbs dl, and no drops. 

Until today when I noticed that my work VPN kept dropping (I WFH). Now I can barely get a stable connection, despite the app saying I have 5/5 strength signal, and nothing changed in terms of setup. I phoned support twice who assured me that them resetting it from their side would fix things, as well as cleaning the sim. I was skeptical given I work in IT, but I gave it a go. No joy, and if anything the performance has got worse. I don't want to phone again to be told to do a factory reset again. Has anyone had any similar issues, and any luck improving the situation? 

I can't even complete a download speed test due to the connection dropping, and a ping test seems to show a fail every 25/30 or so packets. My download speed test on the PS5 has went from 150+mbs to 14.5 mbs. 

I really would like to fix this as I can't get fibre and it was working so well initially, but I might be forced to cancel my contract sooner rather thn later if it doesn't improve quickly.  There just seems no explanation for it. Hub model is NR5103E and firmware version is 1.00(ACBJ.0)b12. 

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or help. I really don't want to phone support again to be told to factory reset!

43 REPLIES 43
Cherenjeet
Regular

Use three's network status checker to see if there is any ongoing maintenance in your area

joespa89
Regular

Hi, 

I've done this, no reported maintenance or outages.

JonathanB
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Hi @joespa89,