cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The recent 3 system update caused me Account disaster and may take weeks to solve.

MarvEllis
Active

I have two Three SIM only contracts which I have had for a number of years. I have a main phone number xxx which I've had for a about 10 years and use it daily. As a backup (in case of loss of my phone) I have a second phone number yyy which is a spare. Both my numbers are on monthly contract.
Until a few weeks ago I have been very happy with my contracts, the service I received and I recommended Three as an excellent provider. I managed my accounts entirely through the three.co.uk website for bills, settings and all related services. As a matter of interest I have been using websites for many years as an IT consultant designing and working with hundreds of websites.
Then a few weeks ago Three sent me a message that their system was being updated and I would have re-register my accounts. I thought nothing of it as I've been working with websites for decades.

A couple of weeks ago I needed to log into my accounts. As anticipated, when trying to log in, the system told me to re-register which I assumed would take me just a few minutes to complete (as has been the case with the hundreds of other websites I have used over the years). However the re-registration process turned into a total disaster indicating, amongst other things, that my email address was incorrect (even though I had been using it with Three for about 10 years). The information appearing on my screen was chaotic and totally indecipherable.

I found it necessary to go to online chat which took several hours. Unfortunately the staff seemed unable to get my accounts re-registered. After about 5 hours of frustration and time wasting, I finally found another member of staff who got my numbers and accounts re-registered. This enabled me to log in via the website and retrieve the information I wanted.